Please Note!

You are reserving a church library book for local pickup in Winfield, Kansas. Books may be checked out for 2 weeks. Movies and music may be checked out for 7 days.



The Great Awakenings series, book 1, 1857-1858

Each book in the Great Awakening series is a stand-alone novel. The series is linked by theme, not story line. They were released out of chronological sequence because the prayer revival of 1857-58 (Proof) was Dr. Bright’s favorite revival of the series.

1 in stock (can be backordered)


Inspired by actual revival events, this first book in a series of four explores the personal and spiritual upheaval that occurs when the Holy Spirit stirs the waters of our souls.

When his daughter experiences a life-changing conversion to Christianity, a celebrated New York attorney takes the Holy Spirit to court in an attempt to win her back. With a hand-picked jury and a sympathetic judge, the atheistic attorney sues the church in which his daughter was saved, accusing them of teaching fictional religious concepts that will undermine America. In a dramatic courtroom thriller, a young defense attorney — boyfriend to the daughter and former intern to the celebrated lawyer — defends the church by attempting to prove the Holy Spirit exists, only to discover that the Holy Spirit is fully capable of proving Himself.

Additional information



Publication Date



Howard Books


The Great Awakenings


Bill Bright, Jack Cavanaugh